Andrea Bocelli will sing on Easter Sunday in Milan’s empty Duomo

The Italian tenor Andrea Bocelli has been invited to sing in the cathedral of Milan by Mayor and the Veneranda Fabbrica del Duomo.

There will be no audience present, in compliance with Covid regulations, but the concert will be streamed live globally on the tenor’s YouTube channel, from 6pm UK time, 10am PST, 1pm EST on Easter.

From the press release:

“Our ‘Hallelujah’ is an invitation that we placed in the ark forty days ago and that the flood, which has overwhelmed us all, almost made us forget the joy of expressing it on the day of Easter. The voice and word of Andrea Bocelli reminds us that the reason for our hope does not come from us but it is a gift that comes from God. This is what it means to promote, from our Duomo – the home of the people of Milan – and through the voice of Bocelli, the confidence that the Spirit of the Risen Crucifix will help us shape the days granted to us in the Kingdom of the One who wanted a new humanity, united and fraternal,” said Monsignor Gianantonio Borgonovo, Archpriest of the Duomo of Milan.

“I believe in the strength of praying together; I believe in the Christian Easter, a universal symbol of rebirth that everyone – whether they are believers or not – truly needs right now. Thanks to music, streamed live, bringing together millions of clasped hands everywhere in the world, we will hug this wounded Earth’s pulsing heart, this wonderful international forge that is reason for Italian pride. The generous, courageous, proactive Milan and the whole of Italy will be again, and very soon, a winning model, engine of a renaissance that we all hope for. It will be a joy to witness it, in the Duomo, during the Easter celebration which evokes the mystery of birth and rebirth,” said Andrea Bocelli.

share this

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google
  • >