BBC Young Musician is competing for the Van Cliburn

Martin James Bartlett, winner of BBC Young Musician 2014, is the standout name among 30 finalists selected for the Van Cliburn Competition.

Other prizewinners taking part are Yuri Favorin, who came fourth in the Reine Elisabeth, and Ilya Maximov, winner of the Viotti.


Full list:

Martin James Bartlett, United Kingdom, 20
Sergey Belyavskiy, Russia, 23
Alina Bercu, Romania, 27
Kenneth Broberg, United States, 23
Luigi Carroccia, Italy, 25
Han Chen, Taiwan, 25
Rachel Cheung, Hong Kong, 25
Yury Favorin, Russia, 30
Madoka Fukami, Japan, 28
Mehdi Ghazi, Algeria/Canada, 28
Caterina Grewe, Germany, 29
Daniel Hsu, United States, 19
Alyosha Jurinic, Croatia, 28
Nikolay Khozyainov, Russia, 24
Dasol Kim, South Korea, 28
Honggi Kim, South Korea, 25
Su Yeon Kim, South Korea, 23
Julia Kociuban, Poland, 25
Rachel Kudo, United States, 30
EunAe Lee, South Korea, 29
Ilya Maximov, Russia, 30
Sun-A Park, United States, 29
Leonardo Pierdomenico, Italy, 24
Philipp Scheucher, Austria, 24
Ilya Shmukler, Russia, 22
Yutong Sun, China, 21
Yekwon Sunwoo, South Korea, 28
Georgy Tchaidze, Russia, 29
Tristan Teo, Canada, 20
Tony Yike Yang, Canada, 18


share this

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google
  • An interesting list. Kenneth Broberg won the Hastings International Piano Concerto Competition just three days ago. Although I didn’t see it, he apparently played the Gershwin concerto in the final, which is an imaginative choice!

  • With that line-up maybe we have a chance to finally see Chopain Op 10 no. 1 performed in less than 1 minute 45 seconds and the last movement of Racked 3 below 13 minutes.
    Any offers for the genders of “Sun A”, “Eun Ae”, “yutong”, “Honggi” , “Yekwon” and the like ? Enquiring minds want to know.


    • Leonard Slatkin, jury chairman (United States)

    • Arnaldo Cohen (Brazil)

    • Christopher Elton (United Kingdom)

    • Marc-André Hamelin (Canada)

    • Joseph Kalichstein (Israel/United States)

    • Mari Kodama (Japan)

    • Anne-Marie McDermott (United States)

    • Alexander Toradze (Georgia/United States)

    The commissioned work is by Marc-Andre Hamelin.

  • Yes, from nearly 300 applicants, approximately 170 of them were invited to perform live for a jury, and they chose these 30 pianists to compete in Ft. Worth. Those who were eliminated might be amused to know that at the 1985 competition, one of the 30 invited pianists withdrew, so an eliminated candidate was brought in as a replacement: his name was Karoly Moscari, and he took 5th prize!

  • “Other prizewinners taking part are Yuri Favorin, who came fourth in the Reine Elisabeth, and Ilya Maximov, winner of the Viotti.”
    Just to add, there is also Aljoša Jurinić (Croatia) who came into final of Chopin in 2015, came fifth in the Queen Elisabeth, and is chosen to be among 32 competitors at Rubinstein in Tel Aviv, one month ahead of Van Cliburn.

  • >