The Slipped Disc daily comfort zone (288): For a while

Normal version:

Covid version:


share this

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google
  • Included in a selection of Purcell songs sung by
    Russell Oberlin accompanied by Seymour Barab (bass viola da gamba) and Paul Maynard (harpsichord) on Counterpoint/Esoteric LP 5535

  • “Music or a while shall all your cares guile.” It’s true. Russell Oberlin’s voice is so beautiful as to be almost disturbing. I can’t tell if a man or woman sings, epicoene in the best, Ben Jonson sense, as in his play Epicoene, or The Silent Woman”, which became Strauss’s “Die schweigsame Frau”. There was a good 78 record of “Music for a While”,perhaps by Schwarkopf. dThere’s a Frau Schweigestill in Mann’s “Doktor Faustus”.

  • What a contrast in style between the young Jaroussky, who by today’s baroque standards is rather cloying, and Orlinski with the imaginative ground bass, who is just right. The song is from Dryden’s Oedipus and the context is the summoning of ghosts from Hell. The whole short scene deserves to be heard:
    And, by way of contrast and off topic, here is an older Jaroussky with Pascal Bertin and Emmanuelle Haïm, in Sound the Trumpet as never before seen (listen all the way):

  • What a fascinating difference in style. By today’s standards the young Jaroussky seems cloying, and Orlinski (with the inventive ground bass) has it just right. The song is from Dryden’s Oedipus, and the context is the summoning of ghosts from Hell. Here is the whole ten-minute scene:
    And here, off topic and by contrast, are an older Jaroussky, with Pascal Bertin, and Emmanuelle Haïm in Sound the Trumpet as it has never been heard before (watch to the end):

  • >