How’s this for a singing jury?

The 2019 Mirjam Helin Singing Competition, with prizes worth €173,000, has named its jury.


Chaired by Jorma Silvasti, the judges are: Olaf Bär, Ben Heppner, Vesselina Kasarova, François Le Roux, Waltraud Meier (pic), Deborah Polaski and Kiri Te Kanawa.

They know a bit about singing.

share this

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google
  • Le Roux, Te Kanawa, and Heppner were on the jury at the CMIM in Montreal last spring, which inexplicably crowned Mario Bahg ahead of Emily D’Angelo.

  • Te Kanawa and Polaski are now retired. Also retired, prematurely, are Silvasti and Kasarova for puzzling reasons as both were indeed on the side of great. Meier is of course still active and so is Bär, both of which will be appearing in the Chéreau Elektra revival in Berlin’s Staatsoper in Jan & Feb of ’19. Heppner is currently singing Rufus Wainright. LOL.

    • Kasarova has not retired. She is expected to sing Judit in Herzog Blaubart in Wiesbaden in March 2019. She gave a concert in October at the Sofia Opera. Her webpage is under reconstruction currently but I am quite sure she had a couple of performances in recent time.

  • >