Borodin Quartet names new leader

Borodin Quartet names new leader


norman lebrecht

September 20, 2022

This kind of change happens very rarely.

The Moscow-based Borodin Quartet, founded in 1945, is losing its leader Ruben Aharonian to retirement.

His seat will be taken by Nikolai Sachenko, winner of the violin gold medal at the 1998 International Tchaikovsky Competition.

The remaining members are Sergei Lomovsky (violin), Igor Naidin (viola) and Vladimir Balshin (cello).

They have a five-stop tour next week in Brussels, Berlin, Liverpool, London and Amsterdam.



  • Gerry Feinsteen says:

    Two comments:

    1) Gold at Tchaikovsky—did that boost his career?

    2) Borodin Quartet founded in 1945? Google:

    Grandfather’s ax
    Trigger’s broom


    …Ship of Theseus

    This ain’t Grandma’s cookin’

  • salminen says:

    the third leader in the history of the quartet I think.