Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra presents TRUTH IN OUR TIME at Carnegie Hall

Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra presents TRUTH IN OUR TIME at Carnegie Hall

Editors Choice

Dolly Bagnall

April 01, 2022

Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra makes its first appearance at Carnegie Hall in 30 years, presenting the U.S. premiere of Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 13 — a meditation on truth and how it is told, commissioned in memory of esteemed journalist Peter Jennings. 

Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s Violin Concerto and Shostakovich’s Ninth Symphony offer defiant statements toward authoritarian regimes.   

The evening begins with Zeiss After Dark by contemporary Canadian composer Nicole Lizée, inspired by the imagery of Stanley Kubrick’s Barry Lyndon, truth through light and lens 

The one-night-only event features violinist and two-time Grammy winner James Ehnes.  “One could only wonder if there’s a finer violinist alive,” declares the Dallas Morning News.  


Tuesday, April 5 • 8:00pm
Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage at Carnegie Hall

Alexander Shelley, Music Director & Conductor 

James Ehnes, Violin


  • zayin says:

    the intention is commendable, the content… so much mumble jumble. music is just music. it has no “truth” content.

  • V.Lind says:

    It’s being livestreamed from the NAC itself April 14, for $15 Canadian.

  • fflambeau says:

    An excellent program. Glass should be performed more.

  • Andy says:

    Ottawa’s National Arts Centre Orchestra.

    • Michael Druce says:

      Exactly. So insecure. The folks in Washington DC would be embarrassed to advertise themselves as The United States of America’s National Symphony Orchestra.

  • msc says:

    After some stagnation during Zukerman’s later years, the NACO is doing very well. Shelley is rhythmically slack a bit too often, but seems to have inherited his father’s musicality. Ehnes is the Heifetz of Generation X.