Berlin Phil announces online world premiere

Eight members of the orchestras have been studying Toshio Hosokawas Texture at home. They will perform it tomorrow on the orchestra’s Digital Concert Hall.

The Berlin Phil Series will have its first premiere on 6 June: The Philharmonic Octet presents Toshio
Hosokawa’s Texture, a work commissioned by the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation and the Japan
Arts Cooperation. The Philharmonic Octet and the composer have rehearsed the piece together online.
The world premiere, which was scheduled to take place on 18 May as part of the Philharmoniker’s
chamber music series, will now be broadcast exclusively in the Digital Concert Hall on 6 June. The
programme also includes the Octet in F op. 34 by Hugo Kaun and the Octet in F major D 803 by Franz
After the concert on Saturday, a Live Lounge with musicians of the octet will take place on Facebook:

share this

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google
  • So it has come to this, the Berlin Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra.

    The Staatskapelle of Dresde chamber groups play at local museums, castles, stately residences, to quite good effect.

    Chamber music is at its best in a beautiful salon that you can’t afford to live in, a feast for the ears and the eyes.

  • The picture is of the truck that delivered the score and parts of Webern’s Symphony opus 21 at one of the New Music Series concerts.

  • >