When Sviatoslav Richter won the Lenin Prize…

When Sviatoslav Richter won the Lenin Prize…


norman lebrecht

March 07, 2020

…. this is what he played.

Moscow, 27 April 1961.

New this week on Youtube

01:12 Haydn Piano Sonata in B-flat, XVI:41

11:13 – Haydn Piano Sonata in G minor, XVI:44

24:45 – Haydn Piano Sonata in E-flat, XVI:49

Debussy 6 Preludes, Book 1

49:15 – Danseuses de Delphes

52:42 – Voiles

56:25 – Le vent dans la plaine

58:21 – Les sons et les parfums tournent dans l’air du soir

01:02:33 – Les collines d’Anacapri

01:05:27 – Des pas sur la neige Prokofiev

01:09:33 – Sonata no. 8, op. 84

01:39:30 – Suggestion diabolique, op. 4 no. 4 (encore)

01:42:05 – Danza op. 32 no. 1 (encore)

01:44:58 – ‘по окончании концерта поздравляли – П. Марков, Д. Журавлёв, Л. Утёсов, В. Топорков’

01:53:28 – The great man speaks



  • Greg Bottini says:

    Tremendous. Simply tremendous. And stunning. Tremendous and stunning.
    One can hear here one of the greatest – possibly THE greatest – of all Debussy piano interpreters.
    Thank you so much for the linkage, Norman, and….
    Bless you a million times, Sviatoslav Richter!

  • Piano lover says:

    Always interesting to hear and read the hidden articles about the Maestro.
    Many audio recordings have surfaced on YT thanks to fans.

  • M McAlpine says:

    Lenin. He was that liberal minded gentleman, much loved by the left?

  • Alexander Tarak says:

    He was in a league of his own.

  • Amir Kessner says:

    Des pas sur la neige Prokofiev?

  • Jay says:

    “This is what he played “….certainly ain;t what Haydn hear
    This worshipping the dead is being pushed to extremes.