What we really need now: unreleased Horowitz

What we really need now: unreleased Horowitz


norman lebrecht

March 14, 2020

The latest astonishing find from Slipped Disc trawler Mikhail Kaykov.

Deep breath now.


  • Richard Kiel says:

    May we have some details please?

    • Classical Piano Rarities says:

      This is from the following concert, recorded by the Carnegie Hall recording company. The original acetates are housed in Yale. Not available commercially:

      Private Recording: April 28, 1947: Carnegie Hall, New York City, New York (Live)

      · Scarlatti: Sonata in D major, K.491
      · Scarlatti: Sonata in E major, K.531
      · Scarlatti: Sonata in A major, K.322
      · Scarlatti: Sonata in E major, K.46
      · Scarlatti: Sonata in B minor, K.87 (L.494)
      · Scarlatti: Sonata in G major, K.455
      · Beethoven: Sonata in C-sharp minor, Op.27 No.2 (Moonlight)
      · Kabalevsky: Preludes, Op.38 Nos. 1, 10, 17, 3, 16, 8, 22, and 24

      · Chopin: Barcarolle in F-sharp major, Op.60
      · Chopin: Waltz in A minor, Op.34 No.2
      · Chopin: Ballade No.1 in G minor, Op.23
      · Liszt: Valse Oubliée No.1
      · Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsody No.6 in D-flat major

      · Debussy: Serenade for the Doll
      · Poulenc: Presto in B-flat major
      · Mendelssohn: Song without Words- May Breezes, Op.62 No.1
      · Liszt-Horowitz: Mendelssohn Wedding March Variations

  • Mustafa Kandan says:

    Yes lets go back to archives since nothing will be happening in the immediate and perhaps foreseeable future.

  • Esther Cavett says:

    Many thanks for sharing

  • Piano Lover says:

    I have the old LP of these Sonatas by VH-

  • Mark says:

    Marvellous. Thank you.

  • Michael Kaykov says:

    I also very much admire Bartok’s recordings of some Scarlatti sonatas.

  • Scott Merrell says:

    I’m thankful for 3 box sets released in recent years!

  • Steven van Staden says:

    I feel that his later recordings of all of these have more of his typical contrasts and variety of tone and texture which make more interesting performances, except for the last one here which is very similar to his later recording even down to the alteration of an awkward left-hand passage. I feel that what’s wrong here is that there’s singing where it’s inappropriate. Cziffra’s Scarlatti suffered from the same cause. In his later Scarlatti recordings, which I think are incomparable, Horowitz sang where the music called for it and articulated brilliantly in the places that here receive lush pedal.

    • Patrick Park says:

      You must be quite a virtuoso pianist to critique Horowitz and Cziffra. I think it would be appropriate for you to demonstrate these comments by recording the music in question and post on this blog. Once it’s posted we can all critique your performance.

  • Nick says:


  • Inimitable. Unique. Sui-generis. I’m out of synonyms.