Leonard Slatkin’s old orch gets new music director

The New York Youth Symphony (est. 1964) has a distinguished roll of past music directors and alumni.

They include: Leonard Slatkin (Detroit SO), Myung-Whun Chung (Tokyo Philharmonic), David Alan Miller (Albany SO), Miguel Harth-Bedoya (Fort Worth), Marin Alsop (Baltimore), Cho-Liang Lin (Soloist), Gary Levinson (Dallas Symphony), Michael Tiscione (Atlanta Symphony), Lawrence Dutton (Emerson Quartet), Kenneth Mirkin (New York Philharmonic), Joel Smirnoff (Juilliard String Quartet), Fred Zlotkin (NY City Ballet), and Pedro Diaz (Metropolitan Opera Orchestra).

The new music director is Michael Repper, a Peabody graduate who succeeds Joshua Gersen.

No pressure.




share this

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google