She brought new string quartets to Carnegie Hall

The death is reported of the violinist Anahid Ajemian, founder of the Composers String Quartet which played new American music on a regular basis from the 1960s at Carnegie Hall and Columbia University.

Anahid was 92.

Her founding quartet partners were Matthew Raimondi, Bernard Zaslav and Seymour Barab.

Elliott Carter dedicated his fourth string quartet to the pioneering group, which went through several personnel changes and played on into the 1990s.

composers quartet

Morton Feldman, Dmitri Mitropoulos and Duke Ellington below were among her fans.


duke ellington anahid ajemian

share this

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google