Moscow music critics announce their best of 2015

Moscow music critics announce their best of 2015


norman lebrecht

October 13, 2015

The shortlist:

1 Vladimir Jurowski, artistic director of Svetlanov State Orchestra for his War and Peace series, regarded as an anti-war statement.

2 Philip Glass Satyagraha, at the Ekaterinburg State Academic Opera and Ballet Theatre, a repertoire breakthrough.

3 Perm State Academic Opera chorus (choirmaster – Vitaly Polonsky) for outstanding artistic quality.

4 ‘Homecoming’ festival of chamber music.

5 Dr Polina Weidmann of the Tchaikovsky Museum for her work on the complete Tchaikovsky edition.

6 Timothy Kulyabin’s controversial Tannhäuser production at Novosibirsk State Academic Opera and Ballet Theatre which caused the government to sack the theatre’s directors.

tannhauser siberia


The winner will be announced on October 19.



  • Eddie Mars says:

    Greatly as Jurowsky deserves to win, I hope the committee will have the guts to award it to Tannhäuser… and display the Minister of Unculture as the spineless little toad he is.

    Since V Jurowsky went public with his vehement rejection of being Keckman’s Novosibirsk puppet, Tannhäuser would also be a vote for V Jurowsky in any case.

    Black mark to Dmitry Jurowsky – who has taken Keckman’s poisoned chalice in Novosibirsk – after his more talented & principled elder brother told Keckman to get knotted. Still, it will give Dmitry’s odious new wife somewhere suitably remite to make her operatic dėbut? More’s the pity.

  • Roman Mints says:

    Could you please correct the festival’s name. It is Homecoming, not Return

  • MWnyc says:

    Well, it’s nice to see that four of the six finalists are outside of Moscow and St. Petersburg. (And it’s bemusing to see that none of this year’s finalists were in St. Petersburg.)