Kaufmann's coming, live and free, from Bavarian Opera

The house has just announced a pilot projects to stream live opera online. The second date’s the one to bookmark – it has Jonas Kaufmann in Don Carlo, details below.

The Bavarian State Opera is starting a pilot project at the beginning of 2012: For the first time, audiences from all over the world will be able to experience a complete evening of opera from the stage of the National Theatre online via video streaming. The broadcast is free to users.
In January, two selected Bavarian State Opera productions will be broadcast to the worldwide web in real time: The project starts on 7 January with Gaetano Donizetti’s L’elisir d’amore with Pavol Breslik as Nemorino and Adriana Kucerová as Adina. Director David Bösch uses wonderfully imaginative pictures to tell the story of the love-sick Nemorino, who woos the beautiful Adina with the help of a wonderful elixir of love. The musical director is Dan Ettinger.

This is then followed on 22 January by the broadcast of the eagerly awaited revival of Giuseppe Verdi’s Don Carlo. The history of the Spanish Crown Prince Don Carlos, who is fighting for the freedom and independence of Flanders from Spain, is staged by Jürgen Rose. The production has a first-class cast, with René Pape as King Philip II, Jonas Kaufmann as the Infante of Spain and Anja Harteros in the role of Elisabeth de Valois. The conductor is Asher Fisch.

Opera lovers can thus enjoy two outstanding productions from the Bavarian State Opera online in their full length. The only requirement is a broadband internet connection such as DSL. The video is offered in two transmission qualities, at 600 and 1000 kbps, which adjust automatically to the internet user’s individual data connection. There is no charge to the viewer for using the live stream.

Live streaming
L’elisir d’amore
Sat., Jan. 07, 2012
7 P.M. CET – 1 P.M. EST – 10 A.M. PST
www.staatsoper.de

Live streaming
Don Carlo
Sun., Jan. 22, 2012
5 P.M.  CET – 11 A.M. EST – 8 A.M. PST
www.staatsoper.de

share this

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google
>