German record awards: who gets the classical prizes?

German record awards: who gets the classical prizes?


norman lebrecht

July 21, 2011

Bartoli for a Halevy DVD, Rene Pape for Wagner and Villazon for an album titled Mexico!

No surprises then among the opera pack.

ECHO Klassik 2011

This list of winners is tediously long, but there are a few good calls within:

Male singer of the year: Thomas Hampson for Des Knaben Wunderhorn (Mahler, DG)

Instrumentalist of the year (accordion): Teodoro Anzellotti for the Goldberg Variations, (Bach, Winter & Winter)

Conductor of the year: Andris Nelsons, for Stravinsky Firebird (with CBSO)

New conductor of the year: Robin Ticciati for Brahms Alto Rhapsody (with Bamberg SO)

Song recording of the year: Diana Damrau, Strauss.

Hilary Hahn, Lisa Batiashvili and Ray Chen are also among the instrumental winners.

Here‘s the full list. Awards ceremony in Octoberr.



  • In my opinio everyone shoul take a closer look on Murray Perahia work, it´s amazing.

  • Very nice post, thank´s for sharing it, all the listed artists are very talented and impressive but Teodoro Anzellotti has really something else.