John Zorn leads $100 Columbia benefit for Japan

The uncontainable avant-gardist John Zorn will be fronting a benefit concert Sunday week at Columbia University’s Miller Theater on behalf of disaster victims in Japan.

His bill is topped by Yoko Ono and her son Sean Lennon, with chip-ins from Mike Patton and my Mahler mate Uri Caine. Tix for $50 or $100. Some gig. Wish I was there.
Great to see the wilder shores doing their bit while the classical old-timers maintain radio silence. Go raise ’em John Sebastian…. Gustav’s with you, Uri.

press release follows


presents a benefit concert for Japan

hosted by JOHN ZORN and featuring


with Mike Patton, Mephista, Marc Ribot, Uri Caine, and Zorn’s Aleph Trio


100% of proceeds will be donated to support Japan earthquake relief efforts


Sunday, March 27, 8:00 PM


Tickets: $50, $100 · Students Tickets: $25

Sunday, March 27, 8:00PM

Concert to Benefit Japan Earthquake Relief


More than a dozen innovative artists at the intersection of indie rock, contemporary jazz, and avant-garde performance will come together at Miller Theatre to present a benefit concert to support recovery efforts in Japan.  “The tragedy and devastation is really overwhelming,” says John Zorn, who has organized and will host the evening.  “I’ve always felt a strong personal connection to Japan, and I’m just glad to be able to do my part to help.  It should be an amazing night.” 


The lineup includes

feature performances by musician and artist Yoko Ono, and her son Sean Lennon; Japanese-American indie duo Cibo Matto; and the influential band Sonic Youth.  Vocalist Mike Patton will appear as a special guest, and MephistaMarc RibotUri Caine, and John Zorn’s Aleph Trio will also play short sets.


Both the performers and the theater are donating their services, ensuring that 100% of proceeds from ticket sales will go to benefit the victims of the earthquake and tsunami that hit near Sendai on March 11.  Funds will be donated to the Japan Society’s Earthquake Relief Fund.


ARTISTS:   Sonic Youth  

                     Yoko Ono

Sean Lennon

Cibo Matto (Yuka Honda & Miho Hatori)

Mike Patton, vocals

Mephista (Susie Ibarra, drums; Sylvie Courvoisier, piano; Ikue Mori, electronics)

Marc Ribot, guitar

Uri Caine, piano

Aleph Trio (John Zorn, saxophone; Trevor Dunn, bass; Kenny Wollesen, drums)

share this

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google